Resurrection Sunday

easter-sermons-620x324

“Resurrection accomplished redemption and asks for our response.”

This sentence was the only slide from the Easter sermon. I actually liked how the pastor approached today, given that it is probably the single-most day that people from all backgrounds go to church. He summarized the history of the Bible; the fact that all of these stories and prophecies led up to this moment. He made his case that there is more evidence for this historical event than all the others that skeptics would easily believe in. So that really leaves you with whether or not you believe, and if you do, your response. And the implications of that are huge.

The first response is that of the Marys’—celebration. The resurrection just offered us redemption! Not only did it give meaning to the entire Christian faith, but it also saved us from the hell we deserve. It’s such a joyous day in that Christ took our place and he is our Lord. The implication of this is that we need to share the good news. We need to embrace Jesus as Lord and live a life according to his will, because it is far more sweeter and eternal than what is on Earth. And Jesus himself gives us this command in Matthew 28:19, “Go therefore and make disciples of all nations, baptizing them in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the Holy Spirit”.

The second response is to believe, but essentially go back to life like normal. One form of this is an acknowledgment of the truth but keeping distant from it, in terms of how you let it impact your life and shape who you are. Make no mistake, all of us fall short of this, but I think there is a difference from those who pursue a personal relationship with God through reading and prayer, and those who do nothing else besides attending church service on Sunday. This is where people get turned off by Christianity because they do not practice what they preach.

The third is no response. There isn’t a conscious decision of denying the Resurrection and the Bible as truth, but there isn’t acceptance either. The pastor associated this to a “no thanks” response. And it also speaks volumes. I wonder if most people who attend church just on Easter ends up being in this bucket. Perhaps this whole Christianity thing triggers curiosity in some. But how many feel a tugging in their heart, leave and forget about it, and then suits up for the next Easter?

This isn’t the most well put together recalling of the sermon, nor is there a lot of insight and takeaways. It’s moreso for my own clarity that I wanted to blog about this, because that sentence and the sermon convicted me so much. It hit right on the spot of where I’m at the past few months. I find myself in the second response, but as postgrad forces me to choose who I am and no longer offers me that luxury in just going through the motions, I’ve been drifting towards response three. In many discussions I’ve had lately, I realized that at some point I need to respond—and if there are things blocking me from that, I need to resolve them. I just can’t keep sitting at the bench and not play the game when there is something so lifechanging that call for a response.

Leave a Reply

